City Council


Iqaluit city council is comprised of the mayor and eight city councillors who serve a four-year term.

Members of city council meet at regularly scheduled council meetings throughout the year, as well as at special council meetings as needed.


Mayor Kenny Bell


Deputy Mayor Janet Pitsiulaaq Brewster

Janet is an artist, social political activist and feminist. She is also an active volunteer with 28 years of experience in leadership and governance roles, with a long-standing public service career and service on both profit and non-profit boards. She was nominated for the Prime Minister's Volunteer Service Award and has received certificates of appreciation for her volunteerism from the City of Iqaluit and the Iqaluit chapter of Habitat for Humanity. 

“Iqaluit is unique and stunning because of its diversity, beautiful environment and great festivals. For me, it is the people in the community that make it so special. I acknowledge the Iqalungmiut that have lived in harmony with the environment around us for generations. I am grateful to be here and commit to treating the land, waters, air, wildlife and people with utmost respect. I believe that innovative smart growth is vital for a healthy community and economy, and that we all must work together to preserve what makes Iqaluit special as we plan for our community’s future.”
 – Janet Pitsiulaaq Brewster

Council Committees
Member, Recreation
Vice-Chair, Strategic Planning and Economic Development 
Member, Committee of the Whole
Mayor’s Representative, Search and Rescue

City Committees
Chair, Youth Task Force, COVID
Chair, Coordinated Community Response, COVID
Member, COVID Task Force
Member, Mayor’s Task Force on Affordable Housing Co-Chair, Subgroup 5

External Boards & Committees
Worker Representative, Worker’s Safety and Compensation Commission, NWT/Nunavut
Member at Large, Inuit Broadcasting Corporation



Alternate Deputy Mayor Solomon Awa

Solomon Awa was born in a sod house nearby Igloolik. From a very young age, he has been curious about everything; he even disassembled his sister’s toy sewing machine -something his sister was very mad about. Solomon picked up many traditional skills from his parents and loves to tell the stories that he learnt from his father. He tells stories to the general public, day cares, and schools; and has also taught at arctic college about traditional knowledge.

Solomon currently lives in Iqaluit, Nunavut with his wife, Jodi, and their two teenage children. He also has five adult children, from his first marriage, along with several grandchildren and one great grandchild.

Council Committees
Vice-chair, Planning and Development Committee
Chairperson, Recreation


Councillor Joanasie Akumalik

Council Committees
Vice-chair, Engineering and Public Works Committee
Chair, Planning and Development Committee
Chairperson, Cemetery
Vice-chair, Taxi Review


Councillor Sheila Flaherty

Sheila has worked extensively in Indigenous and Inuit governance, including being President of Tungasuvvingat Inuit and a founding member of the Ottawa Aboriginal Head Start Program. She has a B.Soc.Sci degree in Psychology and Sociology from the University of Ottawa.

In Sheila’s creative life, she attended the Centre for Indigenous Theatre summer intensive program and went on to act in various stage plays in Toronto, Montreal and Ottawa. She also wrote, directed, produced and edited a 33-minute 16mm short dramatic film and has 100 hours of TV production credits.

Since competing on MasterChef Canada in 2017, she has become renowned in the culinary arts industry and looks forward to establishing sijjakkut, a 100% Inuit owned company that focuses itself on Inuit food menus.

Currently, Sheila is enrolled in Pirurvik’s Aurniarvik program to strengthen her Inuktut language.

Sheila lives in the sijjanga area in Iqaluit with her husband, Johnny.

Council Committees
Chair, Economic Development and Strategic Planning


Councillor Simon Nattaq


Councillor Kyle Sheppard

Born and raised in Southern Ontario, Kyle began his banking career with the Royal Bank of Canada in early 2002. He relocated to Rankin Inlet in 2003, where he made the north his home, met his wife and started their family.

Kyle served one term as a Hamlet Councillor in Rankin Inlet and worked in Yellowknife for three years before moving to Iqaluit in 2016 for his current role in Commercial Banking. Kyle was elected to City Council in April 2017 and re-elected in 2019. Kyle was an Ex-Officio member of the Uquutaq Society board, representing the City.

In his free time, Kyle likes to be on the land hunting and fishing with his family.

Council Committees
Chair, Finance
Chairperson, Taxi Review
Vice-Chairperson, Grievance


Councillor Romeyn Stevenson

Romeyn is a father to four adult children and a grandfather to two girls.  For twenty years, he was an educator in Nunavut. Romeyn has been an Iqaluit City Councilor since 2009, including a term as Deputy Mayor.

He currently works for the Qikiqtani Inuit Association and is passionate about making the City of Iqaluit a brighter, better place to live. 

Council Committees
Chair, Engineering and Public Works Committee
Co-chair, Finance
Chairperson, Development Appeal Board