Public Service Announcement Mayor and Council Sworn In

November 06, 2023

Public Service Announcement

Mayor and Council Sworn In

Iqalummiut have chosen their Iqaluit City Council for the next four years. They were sworn in on Thursday, November 2nd, at the Nunavut Court of Justice.

Mayor Solomon Awa was joined by City Councillors Kyle Sheppard, Samuel Tilley, Simon Nattaq, Harry Flaherty, Methusala Kunuk and Jack Anawak. Councillors Romeyn Stevenson and Kim Smith were unable to attend, and will be sworn in before their November 14th City Council Meeting.

The City wants to thank the Nunavut Court of Justice staff – especially Justice of the Peace Lucy Wilson – for helping us welcome and swear in our new council.

The City waited eight days following the election to hold this swearing in. Eight days is the time that candidates have following a Nunavut municipal election to ask for a recount.

The first Iqaluit Council was elected in 1964, and Iqalummiut chose their first Mayor in 1979.



For additional information, please contact:

Kent Driscoll Communications and Customer Service Manager 867-979-5607